Health & Medical: Anatomy and Physiology

A&P books in the Drill Hall Library

We have many books about anatomy and physiology in the Drill Hall Library. This can be found at shelfmarks 611 and 612, which are in the Silent Study Zone. Books relating to specific aspects of anatomy and physiology will have a sub-section of this area. Examples:

• 611 - anatomy
• 612 - physiology (including books which cover both anatomy and physiology)
• 612.62 and 612.63 - anatomy and physiology in pregnancy and childbirth
• 612.76 - biomechanics
• 612.8 - the brain and neurophysiology

Some of our most popular anatomy and physiology books:

Visible Body - human anatomy atlas

Each of the three Universities at Medway has access to a fantastic anatomy an physiology learning tool called Visible Body. Each has slightly different aspects available, but the key part of this resource is the Human Anatomy Atlas. This is a 3D body displaying normal adult anatomy. It can be viewed from any angle and layered with any combination of body systems. Each individual muscle, organ and nerve is labeled and this resource is brilliant for both initial learning and revision.

Accessing Visible Body

• Canterbury Christ Church University - log in to LibrarySearch and select the Find Databases A-Z menu. Visible Body Premium includes the anatomy atlas alongside several collections of specialised videos and animations. Visible Body Anatomy and Physiology is an interactive online textbook for a&p. See the CCCU Visible Body database guide for more information.
• University of Greenwich - log in to the Portal and access the Online Databases and Academic Journals list. Visible Body Human Anatomy Atlas is listed on this page.
• University of Kent - Visible Body is listed on the Digital Resources Directory. As well as the anatomy atlas, the university has access to several collections of specialised videos and animations.

Other a&p resources through the university libraries

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy (available via CCCU LibrarySearch) - this resource contains videos of dissected human cadavers, giving a wide range of useful recordings regarding anatomy and movement of the human body.

ebooks - all 3 Universities at Medway have purchased anatomy and physiology ebooks. Each has different titles according to the needs of the specific discplines taught by each university. See the Books page for information on accessing ebooks.

Journal articles - all 3 Universities at Medway subscribe to a number of journals which cover anatomy and physiology topics. Useful databases for finding these include CINAHL, Medline and SportDiscus.