Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Drill Hall Library banner front exterior

Health & Medical: Legal information

A collection of information resources and guidance for Health & Medical students

Useful law books for health and medicine

This is just a selection of some of the most popular titles - we have many books available on this subject!

Legal information for health and medical subjects

The scales of justice

For subjects relating to health and medicine, it is very important to make sure that any information you use on law and legal matters is of high quality, relevant to the UK and up-to-date. the law can change rapidly, so make sure you are using the most recent information available.

This will be just as true in practice after graduation as it is in academia, if not more so!

This page gives some useful sources for this.

Law resources through your university

A gavel

The two most useful sources for UK legal information available through the libraries are LexisLibrary and Westlaw. Both available from all 3 Universities at Medway. To access them, you will need to go through your university's A-Z of databases and e-resources.

  • LexisLibrary

    Provides access to some of the most important sources for law in this country, such as Halsbury’s Laws of England and the All England Law Reports, as well as a large amount of case law and legislation.

  • Westlaw UK

    A large database of law sources including legal journals, business information, news, legislation and case law.

Other sources:

  • HeinOnline (available via Greenwich, Kent and CCCU).

    Has a focus on international constitutional law, but also provides access to some legal journals.

  • JustisOne (available via Greenwich, Kent and CCCU)

    Provides a legal search engine, with a focus on legislation and case law around the world.

  • Lawtel (available via Greenwich)

    Access to UK case law from the 1980s to the present.

  • Public Information Online (available via Kent)

    Provides searchable access to all publications from the UK parliament from 2006 onwards.

Web sources for law

  • Legislation.gov.uk

    The source for all UK legislation and is the best place to check the details of specific acts of parliament and related documents.

  • Venables Legal Resources

    A good starting point, providing links to trustworthy information from many sources.