Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Featured database: tutorial
Introduction - LibrarySearch vs. Databases - what's the difference?
Here are some reasons why you need to be using subject-specific databases in your research:
- LibrarySearch is able to search through many of our databases, but not all of them!
You'll need to use databases to find specific types of information, such as diagrams or data
- LibrarySearch will only show you information to which we have full-text access
You'll need to use databases to see relevant abstracts and articles that we don't have access to
- LibrarySearch uses simple and generic searching criteria
You'll need to use boolean logic and specific 'subject headings' to refine your results in greater detail
Accessing databases through your university
Each university maintains a list of databases which can be accessed by students and staff. The links on these pages are checked and updated regularly.
- University of Greenwich - go to the My Learning page in the Portal and select Online databases and academic journals.
- University of Kent - Use the e-resources A-Z list from the University library webpages.
- Canterbury Christ Church University - log in to LibrarySearch and select Find Databases A-Z on the home page (left-hand column).
Key databases for Journalism
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (available via Kent, Greenwich and CCCU): Covers the period 1974-1996 in the Middle East and North Africa, South Asia, Sub-Saharan Africa, and Eastern Europe; it includes transcripts of broadcasts and news from around the world all translated into English.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (available via Kent): Index to social sciences literature with coverage 1951 onwards.
- International Political Science abstracts (available via Kent): Indexes nearly 900 journals in political science published from 1975 to the present.
- TRILT - TV and Radio Index for Teaching and Learning (available via Greenwich and CCCU): The Television and Radio Index for Learning and Teaching (TRILT) is the best source of UK television and radio broadcast data available on the web.
Key databases for Media & Humanities
- Bibliography of British and Irish History (available via Kent and CCCU): Bibliographic data on British and Irish history and relations with the Empire and the Commonwealth, from 55 BC to the present.
- Drama Online (available via Kent,Greenwich and CCCU): An extensive collection of play scripts, recordings, criticism and playwright biographies from all time periods.
- Film and Television Literature Index (available via Kent): A research resource for film and television. This database provides both full-text and bibliographic coverage from scholarly and popular sources across the entire spectrum of film and television studies.
- Film Index International (available via Kent and CCCU): General and bibliographic information on films and film personalities.
- Humanities Index (available via CCCU): Covering over internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK. Coverage: 1962 - current.
- Humanities International Complete (available via Greenwich): This database includes all data from Humanities International Index plus unique full-text content, much of which is not found in other databases.
- International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance (available via Kent and CCCU): Index plus full text from over 100 journal titles and over 50 books.
- MLA Bibliography (available via Kent): Important index to material in literature, language and linguistics.
Getting the most out of databases