Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Drill Hall Library banner front exterior

Media and Humanities: Journals and articles (LibrarySearch)

A collection of information resources and guidance for Journalism, Media and Humanities students

Useful Humanities journals from our print collection

Cover of Journalism History
Cover of Broadcast
Cover of Grey Room
Cover of Time
Cover of Access All Areas
Cover of Privacy & Data Protection
British Journal of Photography
Cover of October
Cover of Prospect
Cover of British Journalism Review
Cover of Australian Journalism Review
Cover of the Economist
Cover of Journal of African Media Studies
Cover of George Orwell Studies
Cover of Entertainment Law Review

Collections of journals

Your university has access to many collections of journals. You can search these instead of or as well as LibrarySearch if you wish. A few which are particularly relevant to the humanities include:

  • Ingenta
  • JSTOR (covering mostly older journals, so very useful for assignments with a historical aspect)
  • Oxford University Press
  • SAGE 

Please note: searching these is different to searching a database, as they only contain journals from one publisher. They also have less sophisticated search engines.

Life Magazine

The red and white logo of Life magazine.

Google books now provides free online access to all issues of LIFE from 1936-1972. LIFE was published by Time Inc. It was renowned for its photojournalism and coverage of key events, persons, personalities and social issues in 20th Century American and world history.

You can search the site by keyword or browse by issue. All major social, cultural and political events are covered including major wars, film stars and celebrities, sporting events and social changes. 

LIFE Photo Archive -Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.

Introduction - how do I use LibrarySearch?

LibrarySearch is a little bit like the University's equivalent to Google: it lets you search through lots of pieces of content at once and shows you anything that matches the key words you put in.

You can use LibrarySearch to:

  • View and manage your library account
  • Find books held at each of your University's site libraries
  • Access available E-books
  • Access abstracts, articles, conference papers, reviews, theses and more

Check out our LibrarySearch demonstration video to get started!

LibrarySearch quick-search boxes

Use our quick search boxes or go to your University library pages
(Greenwich | Kent CCCU) for more information. Always remember to login before you start searching to make sure you see all of the resources available to you!

LibrarySearch FAQ

  • Great question - we wish they were!
    In the library, we will always try to buy an electronic copy of a book if there is one available. However, lots of publishers choose not to make e-versions of their texts.
    Unfortunately, they tend to make more money from libraries buying lots and lots of paper copies.


  • No, unfortunately not.
    The download option is only available on some books, and gives you temporary offline access to a book. After a certain amount of time (usually 24 hours), the book will no longer open on your laptop or device, and you will need to go back to the page and download it again.
    You can, however, download some chapters of the book without infringing copyright law, so these documents won't disappear from your computer. This is a limited service, so make sure you download the most important chapters!


  • Sometimes, we have a limited number of licenses for an e-book. This might mean that only 1 person can be looking at it at any point in time.
    If this happens, wait 30 minutes and then try to access the book again. If this happens regularly, please contact your librarian and we will look into buying more licenses.

  • Yes! You'll find this on LibrarySearch.

    Greenwich staff/students: Click the 'Publication Finder' link under the search button on the LibrarySearch results page (top right hand corner), then use the subject categories or start typing the name of a journal to see if we have access to it.

    Kent staff/students: Click the 'Find e-journals' link under the search button on the LibrarySearch results page (top right hand corner), then use the subject categories, A-Z list or start typing the name of a journal to see if we have access to it.

    CCCU staff/students: On the LibrarySearch home page, click the 'Find e-journals by title' link on the left hand navigation menu, then use the subject categories, A-Z list or start typing the name of a journal to see if we have access to it.


  • We buy packages of access from the publishers, and sometimes they choose to embargo their most recent content (e.g. the last 1, 3 or 5 years).

    If you need to access an article outside of the date range available, try using the Document Delivery service.

  • Now that we have automatic renewals in place, it's really important you reserve any books you need that are out on loan. This will recall them from the person that has them and reserve them for you.

    To do this, click the 'Place Reservation' button next to the item in LibrarySearch and select the campus you want to pick it up from.


  • Yes! You can access any of the items located at your university's other site libraries. Simply find them in LibrarySearch and then click 'Place Reservation' and select the campus you want the book to be delivered to.

    Typically, this process will take 24-48 hours
    and you'll be emailed when the book is ready to collect.


  • You cannot reserve items that are available 'on the shelf' at your 'home' library. This means that Medway-based students cannot reserve books in the Drill Hall unless all the copies are out on loan.

  • Yes! Once you are logged into LibrarySearch, click the 'My account' button on the navigation bar (top right hand corner). Click the 'Checkouts' tab to see which books you currently have borrowed from the library. You can also see your 'Checkout History' here.


  • Yes - go to your 'Checkouts' list and use the check boxes on the left hand side next to each item to select the books you want to renew.

    Don't forget to click the 'renew' button at the bottom of the list before you close the page!


  • That depends which institution you are studying with.

    Greenwich staff/students: You can't currently pay your fines online. If paying by card, you can use the self-issue machines in the Drill Hall Library. Otherwise, please visit the Help Desk.

    Kent staff/students: You can pay your fines through LibrarySearch. Login to your account, click the 'Fines' tab and then click 'Pay online'. You can also use the library machines and ask at the Help Desk if it suits you better.

    CCCU staff/students: You can pay your fines through the online payment system here.