Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Drill Hall Library banner front exterior

Sciences: Science on the web

A collection of information resources and guidance for Science students

Featured website - Wired

Wired.co.uk is where science, technology and culture collide.

Their mission is to "explore the next big ideas in science, culture, business – wherever innovation and new thinking are reshaping our world", and will bring you cutting edge news about developments in AI, machine learning, robotics and the 'next big thing.'

 Colourful tiles displaying a range of technologies.

We also hold a print copy of the magazine in the Drill Hall Library journals collection (located in the Quiet Zone).

Academic Repositories

Universities will have their own digital repository to store, provide access to and preserve work produced by their academics. These repositories can be a valuable source of information to you when you are writing a dissertation or postgraduate-level project. 

The three universities at the Medway site each have their own repository which you can explore:

Test your fake-news-spotting skills

Have a go at this multiple choice quiz compiled by the BBC and test your fake news spotting skills. It's harder than you think!

Did you know that the BBC has extensive guidelines for their reporters, which they must follow to check the authenticity and accuracy of news stories. The relevant part of the website is BBC Editorial Guidelines section 3 - accuracy.

Click the image to play!

A screen shot from the BBC News fake news quiz, an image with a multiple choice question underneath.

Introduction - hidden gem or Fake News?

In general, we recommend that you use verified, peer-reviewed academic books and journal articles as sources for your essays and reports. However, increasingly we can also find a lot of good quality information online.

But with the good always comes the bad - plenty of stuff with a home on the Internet is not reliable, for academic purposes or any other! Here are some top tips to help you quickly assess whether you should give your attention to a piece of research, news report or product review.

A person sitting on a sofa reading a newspaper called 'The Daily Fake News'

Useful websites for Scientists

  • American Institute of Physics

    The latest news from the world of physics. The publications link provides access to the e-zine Inside Science and blog post-style updates from Physics Today.

  • UK Biochemical Society Magazines

    Providing access to The Biochemist, Biochemical Society Symposia and a wide range of free-to-access books.

  • Bioline International

    Providing open access to quality research journals published in developing countries.

  • British Library.net Links for Sciences

    Internet links for the sciences collected by the British Library. You can also view a list of online journals etc. available to access on-site at the British Library Reading Rooms.

  • Chemical Online

    Contains industry-standard information about chemical processing, chemical synthesis, chemical reactions and reactors and much more. News, regulations and technology updates for chemistry professionals.

  • ChemWeb

    Easy access to abstracts, papers books, conferences, news, forums and the Alchemist newsletter. You must become a member to see content.

  • IAEES Online

    Providing online access to articles published in a number of Ecology and Environmental Sciences journals.

  • Physics World

    Comprehensive site from the Institute of Physics Publishing including physics news, company, career and events information.

  • Royal Society of Chemistry

    Comprehensive information about developments in chemistry, offering access to various tools for education and research including Chemspider.

  • Scholarpedia

    A peer-reviewed open-access encyclopedia, where knowledge is curated by communities of experts. Focus on physics topics.

  • World Wide Science Gateway

    A global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals - links out to other relevant websites.

  • WebElements Periodic Table

    An interactive period table interface that contains comprehensive chemical information about the elements.

Websites for sport and exercise sciences

British Association for Cardiovascular Prevention and Rehabilitation

British Association for Sport and Exercise Sciences - full of useful info, including a section for students.

British Athletics - the national governing body for athletics.

CASE database (last updated 2012) - a great source for information about "studies that examine the drivers, impact and value of engagement in culture and sport". It does not contain the full text of the studies, but once you have identified something interesting, you can check to see whether the University has access to the journal.

HEPA Europe - European network for the promotion of health-enhancing physical activity, part of the World Health Organization.

Clinical trials

A die with images of people instead of spots.These sites provide info about clinical trials:

Health-related statistics

You can find statistics on all sorts of websites, but these are likely to be the most reliable sources.

A pie chart and a bar chart.