Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Drill Hall Library banner front exterior

Sciences: Other electronic resources for Science

A collection of information resources and guidance for Science students

Accessing electronic resources

Each university maintains a list of electronic learning resources, which are listed alongside the databases. The links on these pages are checked and updated regularly.

  • University of Greenwich - go to the My Learning page in the Portal and select Online databases and academic journals.
  • University of Kent - Use the e-resources A-Z list from the University library webpages.
  • Canterbury Christ Church University - log in to LibrarySearch and select Find Databases A-Z on the home page (left-hand column).

Introduction - Electronic resources

A spanner and a screwdriverAs well as the databases, which allow you to search for journal articles and other published information, you have access to a range of other resources giving access to media, maps, interactive learning and much more. Think of these as  useful toolbox for study!

 

Each university provides a different set of tools, specifically chosen to be useful to the students and staff from that institution.

Useful electronic resources for science students

  • The Biomedical and Life Sciences Lecture Collection [Henry Stewart Talks] (available via Greenwich and Kent)

    Contains over 2,000 specially prepared, animated, seminar-style, online lectures by world leading authorities.

  • Cite Them Right Online (available via Greenwich, Kent and CCCU)

    Comprehensive guide to how to reference many different types of material. The default referencing style is Harvard, but the resource also has information on other styles used within the sciences, such as Vancouver and APA.

  • Digimap (available via Greenwich, Kent and CCCU)

    A rich source of map information, including sources such as ordnance survey. Each universaity has access to different parts of Digimap. Please note that you will be required to register for this service and agree to licence terms.

  • Human Kinetics Journals (available via Kent)

    A specialist publisher in the disciplines associated with Sport and Exercise Sciences.

  • Institute of Physics archive (available via Greenwich and Kent)

    The IOP Journal Archive is a digital collection of nearly all the work published by the Institute of Physics between 1874 and 1998.

  • Royal Society of Chemistry Journals Archive (available via Greenwich and Kent)

    Access to 31 current journals plus the RSC Journals Archive with instant access to over 238,000 original articles published between 1841-2004.

  • Science Direct (available via Greenwich, Kent and CCCU)

    Access to the Elsevier Science journal collection with journals from a host of prestigious societies and scientific publishers.

  • Visible Body (available via Greenwich, Kent and CCCU)

    Visible Body is an interactive multimedia resource containing 3D anatomy and physiology models, animations, illustrations, quizzes and more.