Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Test your fake-news-spotting skills
Have a go at this multiple choice quiz compiled by the BBC and test your fake news spotting skills. It's harder than you think!
Did you know that the BBC has extensive guidelines for their reporters, which they must follow to check the authenticity and accuracy of news stories. The relevant part of the website is BBC Editorial Guidelines section 3 - accuracy.
Click the image to play!
Universities will have their own digital repository to store, provide access to and preserve work produced by their academics. These repositories can be a valuable source of information to you when you are writing a dissertation or postgraduate-level project.
The three universities at the Medway site each have their own repository which you can explore:
Introduction - hidden gem or Fake News?
In general, we recommend that you use verified, peer-reviewed academic books and journal articles as sources for your essays and reports. However, increasingly we can also find a lot of good quality information online.
But with the good always comes the bad - plenty of stuff with a home on the Internet is not reliable, for academic purposes or any other! Here are some top tips to help you quickly assess whether you should give your attention to a piece of research, news report or product review.
Social history sites
- BFI Screenonline : A free online encyclopaedia of British film and television featuring hundreds of hours of film and television clips from the vast collections of the BFI National Archive, and several hours of recorded interviews with film and TV personalities. These clips are supplemented by rich and authoritative contextual material by expert writers, specially commissioned for BFI Screenonline alongside thousands of stills, posters and press books.
- Charles Booth's London : Poverty maps and police note books to browse, part of the Inquiry into the Life and Labour of the People in London (1886-1903).
- Connected Histories : Includes nine research guides, such as crime and justice and poverty and poor relief. This resource provides access to the John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera covering 1700-1900 which has more than 67,000 item. It also includes access to British Museum images.
- Europeana : Europeana Collections provides access to over 50 million digitised items – books, music, artworks and more – with sophisticated search and filter tools to help you find what you’re looking for.
- Hidden Lives Revealed : A virtual archive of children in care 1881-1918. Maintained by the Children's Society. Provides free access to a wealth of primary source information about poor and disadvantaged children cared for by The Waifs and Strays' Society during the period 1881-1918.
- Institute of Historical Research: Provides resources for historians including online articles and an open-access library.
- National Archive Public Information Films : Provides free access to a collection of UK government public information films covering the period 1945-2006. Each entry has a synopsis and publication details. Technical and copyright information is displayed on the website. Other features include a timeline of key events during the period and links to other paper archives relating to it.
- Social History Society: Founded in 1976 to encourage the study of the history of society and cultures (worldwide) by teaching, research and publication. It represents the interests of social and cultural history and of social and cultural historians both within higher education and in the wider community.
- Voices of Post-war England: Focuses on the history of the working class in England since 1945. In particular, it showcases the life history of working-class people in Liverpool and Coventry since 1945. As it grows, we’ll include links and material of interest to people wanting to research their family history, labour history or social history. Explore the site to learn more about life in England in the 1950s and 1960s and how it compares with today.