Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
BoB (Box of Broadcasts)
BoB - On Demand TV and Radio (Box of Broadcasts) is an archive of UK television and radio from the last several years, provided to UK Higher Education institutions.
You can watch or listen to entire programmes as well as create short clips from them (great for presentation work!). It covers many different channels and is a great source for documentaries.
To access, go to the BoB homepage and select Sign in. You will then need to search for the name of your university to proceed any further.
News websites (not newspapers)
Introduction - using news sources
News sources can be really useful for academic study, particularly if you want your study to reflect current interests and concerns. Remember, your tutors will often want you to use up-to-date sources in your essays and assignments.
Your university provides a range of resources for accessing the news, and there are numerous high-quality news sites as well.
It's also really easy to reference various types of news sources using Cite-Them-Right, of which we have many copies in the library.
Specialist news sources for Business
Nexis is an excellent source for online full text UK newspapers as well as other news sources world wide.
Several "group files" allow you to cross search on a number of titles. These groups include UK nationals (16 full text newspapers) and UK broadsheets.
With Nexis you can also access:
- the Financial Times, with an archive going back to 1982
- many non-UK newspapers, particularly from North America, Australasia and other English speaking areas
- news sources from European countries in their original languages
- business and company information worldwide
Access to current national newspapers through your university
- The Financial Times: All three Universities at Medway provide access to FT.com, including the contents of the newspaper and additional online resources. This is not only useful for business students, as it provides a wealth of information about companies and organisations in all spheres of life. You will need to create an account to use this resource, using your university email address.
- Nexis and LexisLibrary: All three Universities at Medway have access to this, which provides access to a wide range of current UK national and local newspapers (broadsheet and tabloid), including the full text of the articles. These services generally do not include adverts, images, layout etc.
- UK Press Online (available via University of Kent): Provides the full content of various historical and current newspapers, exactly as they appeared in print. This includes the Daily Mirror, Daily Express and Daily Star. University of Kent UK Press Online link.